Archive

Archive for 10:59 JST August 12, 2011

SMAP’s Shingo Katori feels like he’s really Ryo-san

10:59 JST August 12, 2011 2 comments

SMAP’s Shingo Katori said he has been playing his latest movie’s character so much lately he feels like it is real, the star revealed at an opening event in Tokyo on August 11, reports Sankei Sports and International Business Times.

 

Katori is playing the lead character Ryo-san in the movie adaptation of the manga-turned-drama-series “こちら葛飾区亀有公園前派出所 THE MOVIE 勝どき橋を封鎖せよ!(Kochira Katsushikaku Kameari-koen-mae Hashutsujyo THE MOVIE Kachidoki-bashi wo Fusa seyo!)”.  A key scene in the movie involves Tokyo’s Kachidoki bridge opening up.  However, this was digitally added in for the movie, and in real life, the Kachidoki bridge has not been opened up since 1970. It has been reported the Johnny’s talent visited the control room to the Kachidoki bridge yesterday, dressed in his character’s police uniform outfit.

“I was so excited.  I literally wanted to press the button to open up the bridge, but they told me it would cost a few hundreds-of-millions-of-yen so I stopped,” Katori said.

 

The movie itself opened up to audiences on August 6, and Katori said he’s been getting good feedback.

“People have told me, ‘it was actually really good’, or, ‘I can’t believe it, but I actually cried in the end’,” he said.

 

But with the large number of promotional events Katori had attended leading up to the opening, the talent had said he began to get confused with whether he was acting Ryo-san or SMAP’s Shingo Katori.

“I had work with SMAP yesterday, but it felt like it had been such a long time.  I’ve been dressing as Ryo-san practically every day lately.  It felt like I was acting a guy called Shingo Katori.  I want to thank everyone who has seen the movie, and hope that you will all go home happy, and I promise to go back to being a normal SMAP.  Thank you!”

Categories: SMAP Tags: , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 618 other followers

