Home > Jin Akanishi > Jin Akanishi talks about his hopes for the future at farewell party

Jin Akanishi talks about his hopes for the future at farewell party

11:05 JST October 4, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Revealing the reason why he left KAT-TUN, his upcoming single, a new tour in 2011, and a visit from Ryo Nishikido (25) were some of the surprises at Jin Akanishi’s (26) farewell party in Tokyo yesterday, reports Sports Hochi, Daily Sports, Sankei Sports, and Sponichi Annex.

The event, “US Tour Farewell Party! We’ll be together with you!” has been held at Zepp Tokyo since yesterday and finishes today.  On October 3, almost 3000 fans gathered to see Akanishi perform for one-and-a-half hours.  In his first appearance as a solo artist, the singer appeared with a fresh haircut, and delighted fans with his hip hop and R’n’B songs.

Akanishi had revealed that one song, “Eternal”, which he wrote, would be released next year by a different record company to KAT-TUNs.

“At the beginning of next year I’m going to release a single, and then an album.  A concert tour in Japan?  I’ll be doing that next year as well,” he said.

According to representatives from the singer’s agency, Johnny’s & Associates, they are hoping Akanishi will work in both Japan and the US, and are currently in negotiations with signing Akanishi up to a major international record company.

“I hope I can keep Japan as my home base and be able to work in Asia, the States, and Europe,” Akanishi said.

Agency president Johnny Kitagawa has also reported to have attended the event, and said he had high hopes for Akanishi.

The consequences of leaving his group, however, would be harsh, Kitagawa had revealed.

“If he doesn’t deliver overseas, then no (there will be no collaborations with other Johnny’s artists or invitations to the New Year’s countdown concerts).”

Kitagawa himself had gotten as far as recording music in the US, but never had the chance to make a professional debut.

“It reminds me of what I went through 5o years ago.  Aiming for a US No.1 isn’t impossible,” he said.

In response Akanishi had said he felt extremely grateful for the agency’s support and hoped he could live up to their expectations.  The singer also said he knows what he will be up against.

“I know people think, ‘what’s the point of you going…’, and I know it myself.  It’s not easy.  But I want it to be fun.  If anything else comes out of it then that would make it even more amazing,” he said.

Back in July it had been reported that Akanishi had left KAT-TUN because of a difference in opinions, but yesterday, Akanishi painted a clearer picture of things.

“It’s not that I wanted to escape.  It’s just that when I made the things I wanted to do a priority, this was the result.

“I’ve always loved western music and always wanted to try working there.

“I got offered this chance while I was on my solo tour in February and didn’t want to let it pass.  I felt bad for the other members, but I knew I had to do this.  But I also didn’t want to cause them more trouble by coming and going again so (I decided to leave the group),” he said.

The singer continued to explain that he had made the decision to leave the group himself, and had not discussed the issue with his group.

“We were working individually anyway and I don’t think it came as much of a surprise to them.

“How did they react?  I don’t know, I haven’t been watching TV,” he said.

Currently it has been reported that Akanishi is moving backwards and forwards between Japan and the US, working on new songs for his album, and studying English.  He will move across to the US within the month in order to prepare for his upcoming US tour which starts in Chicago on November 7.

“I’ve never been to Houston or Chicago before so I’m really excited,” Akanishi said.

Ryo Nishikido (25) from NEWS and Kanjani8 had made a special appearance at the night show yesterday, bringing a bouquet of flowers on stage for his friend.

“Jin’s a good guy.  He might not look lovable but he’s got a good personality.

“I hope you all continue to support him,” Nishikido said.

  1. s_malfoy
    13:07 JST October 4, 2010 at 1:07 PM

    Thanks for this. I am a KAT-TUN fan and this helps me to understand the whole picture. As you said in your 200th blog, the reports that I knew of was minimal and were quite biased.

    • 13:32 JST October 4, 2010 at 1:32 PM

      @s_malfoy:
      You’re welcome.

      I’ve been quite skeptical of what Jin wanted from a solo career so to see he got things a little clearer at yesterday’s event was a relief!

      Thanks for coming by again.

      Momo xoxo

  2. pris
    14:36 JST October 4, 2010 at 2:36 PM

    wow thx for public this, so maybe many fans will understand why he left now, im agreed with him that wasnt good for the band that he were comming and going everytime he wants and unfair for the fans. Like i always say i will support him and kattun because this is my role as a fans…

    • 16:22 JST October 4, 2010 at 4:22 PM

      @pris:
      You’re a loyal fan! d(^-^)

      I feel a little more respect towards Jin now after reading what he wants to do, and it’s good to see he’s making an effort not to let everyone down with the decision he’s made with leaving KAT-TUN.

      Thanks for coming by!

      Momo xoxo

  3. Miami ~!
    18:17 JST October 4, 2010 at 6:17 PM

    sorry but what your source for this ?

  4. Ginger
    19:35 JST October 4, 2010 at 7:35 PM

    Momo thank you for translating this one.I’m a Jin Akanishi
    obesessed fan & a Kat-tun lover as well and this report
    makes everything so much clearer. I’ll repost on my
    LJ with a link back to your blog, with your permission.

    Hugs & cookies

    • 20:22 JST October 4, 2010 at 8:22 PM

      @Ginger:

      Feel free to re-post on your LJ account 😀
      I ask this all the time, but can I get a link to your account? I just really like reading fan pages so I can get ideas about what posts to write in the future.

      Thank you for coming by too!

      It’s really cool to meet some Jin and KAT-TUN fans XD

      Momo xoxo

  5. achan
    20:25 JST October 4, 2010 at 8:25 PM

    I hope this will be the last newspiece about KAT-TUN – JIN issue.

    To have Jin talking about KAT-TUN only gave me more pain. They’ve been separated for almost a year already. I have moved on.

    Anyway, thanks for translating the news.

    • 20:36 JST October 4, 2010 at 8:36 PM

      @achan:

      You’re welcome 🙂

      It’s really sad how things have turned out; I’m just hoping for the best for Jin and KAT-TUN now.

      Hope the news from now on will be happier. Take care.

      Momo xoxo

  6. joan
    21:29 JST October 4, 2010 at 9:29 PM

    momo-chan~ 🙂
    good to hear from jinjin again 🙂
    isn’t the punishment for him a bit too harsh? :l
    maybe something did happen. :l that’s a big decision for johnny to make :l
    *sighs* i hope he’ll do good on US so he doesn’t have to take those consequences :3
    thanks so much for this 🙂

    • 22:15 JST October 4, 2010 at 10:15 PM

      @joan:
      I thought it was harsh too, but when I thought it over, maybe it was just a way to get through to Jin to make him understand the seriousness of things.
      I remember a story I posted in the past where Johnny Kitagawa said he wanted to see Jin succeed but didn’t want to make it look like he was spoiling Jin by giving him the chance to work in the US at the cost of leaving KAT-TUN.
      My interpretation of Mr Kitagawa’s comment is that it’s simply motivating Jin to work harder than he ever has so that he won’t give up.
      The worst case scenario that I can think of is that Jin might think that even if his career in the US doesn’t fly, he has this safety net of loyal fans and a record company in Japan to fall back into. If it were me, something like that would keep tempting me to give up when things go wrong in another country.
      This is entirely my opinion though.

      I’m not sure whether Jin’s material is enough to crack the US market, but I do hope he can show everyone that he’s put everything he’s got, and more, into it. As a fan, that would be enough of a prize for me, and I hope it will be enough for Mr Kitagawa.

      Momo xoxo

  7. joan
    23:43 JST October 4, 2010 at 11:43 PM

    i agree to what you’ve said.
    me and my sister talked about that from before and like you, that’s the same reason we had.
    even though it’s said like that, it’s still for jin’s sake though it’s kinda scary for a fan like me.
    i can’t help my self in to thinking what if jin will fail on his tour, (which i pray won’t happen), he has no one to go back to 😦
    i know it’s not good for him to think of KAT-TUN as back up, but then, what about the countdowns & all?
    *sighs*
    hope everything will turn out good. i really do hope so.
    thanks again for sharing this with us 🙂
    i think i’ve been a regular here. lol xDD
    be waiting for your next updates 🙂

  8. Justme
    02:51 JST October 5, 2010 at 2:51 AM

    Hiii~ thank you for doing this.
    can you tell me? where is the source that your translation came from?

    thank you

  9. justme
    16:52 JST October 5, 2010 at 4:52 PM

    Oh Okayz thank you.

    • 17:29 JST October 5, 2010 at 5:29 PM

      @ justme:

      No worries 🙂

      Momo xoxo

  10. justme
    16:52 JST October 5, 2010 at 4:52 PM

    do you believe in these newspapers?

    • 17:28 JST October 5, 2010 at 5:28 PM

      @justme:

      Thanks for coming by 🙂

      I generally believe that if I read similar facts in two different newspapers, then there is a good chance that that’s how things are.

      Quotes I tend to trust because if a paper gets it wrong, the consequences can be severe. It is very easy for a paper to be sued for publishing an inaccurate quote than it is for simply writing a wrong fact.

      Hope that’s somewhat understandable!

      Momo xoxo

  11. 23:19 JST November 11, 2010 at 11:19 PM

    I really pray that he makes it big in America.

    • 23:36 JST November 11, 2010 at 11:36 PM

      @kishasland:

      I hope so too!!! 😀

      Thanks for coming by today 🙂

      Momo xoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

