Home > NEWS > Yamapi forgot what meat had tasted like during movie shoot

Yamapi forgot what meat had tasted like during movie shoot

22:28 JST December 17, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Tomohisa Yamashita in Ashita no Joe (photo thanks to Toshiba website)

 

Tomohisa Yamashita (25) from NEWS looked back on his boxing training at an event for his upcoming movie in Tokyo today, reports Oricon.

 

The pop star will play the title role of Joe Yabuki in “あしたのジョー (Ashita no Joe)”.  At the event, a life size figure of Yamashita in character was unveiled, which showed the star when his body fat percentage was down to 5 per cent and body weight had dipped from 62 kilograms to 53.5 kilograms.

Looking at himself, the star looked back on his training.

“I was really hungry.  It made me realise how much I took food for granted,” he said.

Yamashita also talked about the first time he got to eat meat after filming.

“I’d forgotten what meat had tasted like.  I thought, ‘so this is what it was like’.  It was great,” he said.

 

Yamashita continued to talk about the challenges he went through in order to get into shape.

“It was difficult to get into form when I was only able to eat a limited amount of food.  I ate a lot of vegetables and protein,” he said.

 

The star laughed about how his trainer punched him in the stomach to help get him into the fighting spirit.

“There was a period where every day I would snap once.”

 

Looking at the figure of himself, Yamashita could not hide his excitement.

“Look, I’m even sweating.  This is so amazing!  It reminds me of when we filmed it.

“I trained my muscles for punching.  It was worth doing all of those sit ups and getting pushed around every day,” he said.

 

“Ashita no Joe” will open in cinemas in Japan from February 11.

************************************************************

Source: www.oricon.co.jp/news/confidence/83117/full/

Photo from: http://dynabook.com/pc/1-oku/joe/

************************************************************

  1. 04:10 JST December 18, 2010 at 4:10 AM

    *His body fat percentage went DOWN 5%, not TO 5%…

    He wouldn’t be alive if it were 5%.

    • 09:13 JST December 18, 2010 at 9:13 AM

      @Tiffany:

      Thanks for coming by 🙂

      I think I have it right…his body fat percentage went down from 14% to 5% while he was training.

      It’s not uncommon for sports athletes to have body fat percentages of 5% either, especially Asian athletes.

      If I remember right, everyone was concerned for Yamapi at that time because he was pushing his body so much, so I agree it might not be ideal to have such a small body fat percentage and there’s no doubt it’s gone back to his previous state since filming had finished 🙂

      Momo

  2. 08:42 JST December 21, 2010 at 8:42 AM

    Awwe poor pi.. I think he really needs to eat a lot again. He is really skinny that sometimes his cheeks are looking creepy. I miss his cheeks from before which weren’t that skinny. That was too cute.. 😐

    Anyway, I’m new to your blog. I just found it minutes ago while I was searching for the latest news about Yamapi and Tokyohive isn’t of any help either. I’m glad you have these kind of entries to keep us all updated. 🙂
    You’re inspiring me to revive my blog again. :))

    • 10:16 JST December 21, 2010 at 10:16 AM

      @Lebene:

      Thank you for coming by today 🙂

      I agree with you on Yamapi and his cheeks! Hope he’s back to his cute self in time for his Asian tour next year XD
      Even though that’s in just over a month’s time…

      You had a blog? What was it about??? 😀

      Have a nice day!

      Momo xoxo

  3. 16:45 JST December 21, 2010 at 4:45 PM

    I hope he does well on gaining weight again. After all, we don’t want a skinny Pi ne? 😉

    Yes I have. Well it’s not that updated at all and it’s just about my lame thoughts and some random stuffs. I hope you could visit there too. 🙂

    • 17:25 JST December 21, 2010 at 5:25 PM

      @Lebene:

      Skinny Yamapi is definitely not too cool. I get a bit jealous when I see he has better legs than most women, arrrrrrrrrgh…

      I like the wallpaper to your blog 😀

      Momo

      • 19:05 JST December 21, 2010 at 7:05 PM

        Oooooh right! He’s got beautiful traits, really. I agree on that. 🙂

        By the way, I have a question, is Kitagawa Keiko and Yamapi still together now? I’ve heard they were for real.

        Thanks ! But what wallpapaer were you referring to?

      • 22:52 JST December 21, 2010 at 10:52 PM

        @Lebene:

        Things have been quiet with Keiko Kitagawa and Yamapi rumours lately…I know there were a number of sightings late last year and early this year.
        Not sure, to be honest.
        I did come across one paper that said the two of them were seeing different people now but I never saw another paper to confirm the same thing.

        I was talking about this wallpaper? I think?
        http://dynabook.com/pc/1-oku/joe/#/download/

        Thanks for coming again 🙂

        Momo xoxo

  4. 08:27 JST December 22, 2010 at 8:27 AM

    I’m relieved then… 🙂

    But I don’t remember having that wallpaper in my blog. Hahaha! 🙂

    It’s my pleasure to always come and visit and I’m glad you replied to comments instantly in that way the topic won’t be put off in time.

    It’s really nice meeting you momo-chan 😀

    xoxo,
    Lebene 🙂

    • 10:05 JST December 22, 2010 at 10:05 AM

      @Lebene:

      Nice to meet you too 🙂

      Oops…sorrie, wrong wallpaper! I was talking about the wallpaper on your blog XD It’s like a montage of fabric strips (^-^)

      Have a good day!

      Momo xoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

