Home > Arashi, Translations > Masaki Aiba surprised his little brother is getting married before him (interview translation)

Masaki Aiba surprised his little brother is getting married before him (interview translation)

22:45 JST January 19, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

While memories of taking on the host role of last year’s Kohaku are still fresh in their minds, Arashi have already established a solid popularity and there is no doubt they will continue to be a big success this year.  In amidst it all, we caught up with Masaki Aiba, the calm one.  Here we’ll let you have a small peek at the interview.

 

Aiba-san says his family is his rock.

“I’ll call them up a lot to ask, ‘do you want to go out for dinner?’, and we’ll go out as a family.  My family runs a Chinese restaurant and the other day they asked me, ‘what should we put on the new menu’ (laughs).  How am I supposed to know.

“Just recently, my little brother surprised me by saying he was going to get married.  I’d met his girlfriend a number of times, and she’s had dinner with us, but, I can’t help but feel that he beat me to it really easily (laughs).”

 

Having just turned 28 himself, Aiba-san contined to tell us about his reaction.

“I’d always felt that marriage was something still way down the line, but now it feels quite close,” he said.

 

So what kind of woman would he want to marry himself?

“I’d rather be with a woman who is straightforward and puts her best effort into everything than someone who’s always formal.  It would be great if we could encourage each other for the better.”

 

You seem like you’d look after a girl, but what if you abandoned her to hang out with your guy friends!?

“No, of course not.  I’d even bring her along when we play baseball.  I’d be like, ‘you, be our manager’.  I’d make sure that we can enjoy things together!!”

 

Perhaps the force behind Aiba-san’s unlimited energy isn’t just his fellow Arashi members or fans, but also his family…

 

* Source: BAILA magazine, February 2011 edition

  1. 02:33 JST January 20, 2011 at 2:33 AM

    Awwwww, Aiba is tooo sweet, any girl that gets him is a lucky lady indeed.
    I love reading stories like that, thank you so much, Momo, I think these stories help us see our guys as more human and that their personalities are good too.

    • 10:17 JST January 20, 2011 at 10:17 AM

      @Peacemouse:

      I thought the same thing when I first found the story!

      Happy to be of help, thanks for putting up with my translations!

      Momo xoxo

  2. tem
    10:21 JST February 9, 2011 at 10:21 AM

    I Fall in love to aiba KUN

    • 12:53 JST February 9, 2011 at 12:53 PM

      @tem:

      I really like his new drama Bartender!

      Thanks for coming by today 🙂

      Momo xoxo

  3. 07:12 JST May 3, 2011 at 7:12 AM

    They decribed Aiba as the calm one? Laid back maybe. But calm, not so much. Haha.

    • 11:20 JST May 6, 2011 at 11:20 AM

      @erifin:

      Lol, there are times I see Aiba on TV and he says nothing though…hehe, but he has such a cheeky smile even then too.

      Momo xoxo

  1. 14:21 JST January 20, 2011 at 2:21 PM

Leave a Reply

