Home > SMAP > Shingo Katori unveils his large-scale art piece

Shingo Katori unveils his large-scale art piece

22:04 JST February 1, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

SMAP's Shingo Katori's art is unveiled in Tokyo today (photo thanks to Oricon)

SMAP’s Shingo Katori expressed his love for Cirque de Soleil through his art, which was unveiled at a ceremony in Tokyo on February 1, reports Oricon.

 

The pop star had been appointed Cirque du Soleil’s “Kooza” show mission ambassador and had visited the show’s cast in Miami last November.

“I’d been looking for a way to show people how amazing it was and the smiles I saw on everyone’s faces,” Katori said.

 

This lead to the pop star spending two months creating a 1.8 metre by 1.5 metre art piece titled “宝箱 (Takara-bako, Treasure Box)” depicting what he had seen.

“I really love drawing, and to have been given the chance to do this made me the happiest person ever.

“All of the characters are packed into it,” he said.

 

The “Kooza” show’s Japan season starts tomorrow on February 2, and at today’s welcoming ceremony, Katori told people what to expect.

“It happens right in front of you.  I think it’ll put a smile on your face several times from giggling to laughing out loud.

“I got given a free pass that lets me come any time.  I’m going to see it a lot of times myself!  Look for me too!,” he said.

Categories: SMAP Tags: ,
  1. Eri-chan
    02:58 JST February 2, 2011 at 2:58 AM

    Yepp~ We know that Shingo loves drawing…!!! Wanna see his happy face doing this naa~!!!!! <333
    And… thanks a lot for sharing~!!! XDD

    • 10:29 JST February 2, 2011 at 10:29 AM

      @Eri-chan:

      I want to see Shingo’s happy face too!!! I love Shingo’s smile XD

      Thanks for coming by today 🙂

      Momo xoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

