Home > Johnny's Junior > Tokyo citizen Shunsuke Kazama pulls off farm boy role

Tokyo citizen Shunsuke Kazama pulls off farm boy role

12:24 JST March 1, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Shunsuke Kazama with director Gitan Ohtsuru (photo thanks to SponichiAnnex)

Johnny’s talent Shunsuke Kazama (27) talked about turning from a Tokyo city boy to a farm boy, and then to a visual rock musician at an event for his upcoming movie “前橋ヴジュアル系 (Maebashi Visual Rockers)” in Tokyo on February 28, reports Cinema Today, Sponichi Annex, Sankei Sports, and TV Asahi.

The story follows a group of country boys who form a visual band and dream of making it big.  It has been reported Kazama had said wearing heavy visual rock band makeup was an unforgettable experience.

“My face is very plain so it was great to be able to dress up like this.  [But in between takes] I’d look at myself in the mirror and laugh,” he said.

Kazama also said it was a challenge to take on a project where he would not be dancing.

“I worked really hard to make my performance believable,” he said.

The other believable role had been what his character looked off the stage and on the farm.

“I was worried my Tokyo lifestyle would ruin things if my city boy habits came out, but then when I tried on the farm clothes, I looked better than I had imagined,” he said.

The Johnny’s talent also said he was not fazed by the fact this was his first lead role in a movie.

“I never took notice of it while I was filming, but now I’m gradually beginning to realize what it means,” he said.

Finally, like the characters in the movie who grow to love their work more and more, the press had asked Kazama what he himself was into these days.

“I think I’m dead serious when I’m reading manga at manga cafes.  My happiness only costs 400 yen an hour.”

“前橋ヴジュアル系 (Maebashi Visual Rockers)” opens in Japan cinemas from April 9.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

