Home > KinKi Kids, Tackey & Tsubasa > Koichi Domoto applauds the Teikoku Gekijo on its 100th birthday

Koichi Domoto applauds the Teikoku Gekijo on its 100th birthday

11:18 JST March 2, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

(photo thanks to Endless SHOCK website)

Koichi Domoto and the cast of stage show “Endless SHOCK” paid a special tribute to Teikoku Gekijo’s (Imperial Garden Theater) 100th birthday on March 1, reports Chunichi Sports, Mainichi Shimbun, and Nikkan Sports.

It has been reported at the curtain call, Koichi talked about his future with the theatre.

“I want to grow older with the Teikoku Gekijo and never forget it’s long history and always be thankful for what it’s done for me.

“Being able to perform on this historical day was slightly terrifying….I was thinking about a lot of things during today’s show,” he said.

It has been reported although the curtain closed once, the continuous applause from the crowd opened up the stage for a second curtain call.

“I think this is an applause for the theatre.  We better do it as well,” Koichi said before the cast began to clap their hands.

“Was it right to perform SHOCK today?”

At the theatre’s anniversary party that night, Koichi looked back on his time at Teikoku Gekijo.

“I’ve spent one third of my life at the Teikoku Gekijo.  I remember the time I fell down during rehearsals and hit my head and was kept in hospital.  But I pulled through, and I can only feel like the theatre protected me in some way.”

The pop star revealed after this 2004 accident, where his wire action rehearsal went very wrong, he had spent a week going to and from the hospital to the theatre for his show.

Another Johnny’s star at the party was Hideaki Takizawa, who had performed “滝沢革命 (Takizawa Kakumei)” in January.  Takizawa said he had owed a lot to the theatre.

“There are some things that are only made possible at the Teikoku Gekijo.  I hope I can perform here again next year,” he said.

The Teikoku Gekijo opened on March 1, 1911, and was the first Western style theatre in the country.  The current building opened in 1966.

  1. ryo
    22:22 JST March 3, 2011 at 10:22 PM

    Thank you for the translation~

    I didn’t know he once fell down and hit his head?? O.o
    I knew he was once injured his ligament.
    He should be more careful..

    Thanks again 🙂

    • 23:58 JST March 3, 2011 at 11:58 PM

      @ryo:

      Neither did I! Quite a SHOCK (hehehe, okay, I admit that was lame)

      Thanks for dropping by 🙂

      Momo xoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

