Home > Momo yabbering > my look back on 3/11

my look back on 3/11

11:56 JST March 21, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hi ๐Ÿ™‚

My apologies for not being able to update this blog as much as I usually do.

It’s been a very stressful last 10 days since the earthquake/tsunami/nuclear incident.

When the earthquake struck at 2:46pm on Friday March 11 I was at work in central Tokyo, but while I was evacuating from the building I had no idea that tsunamis were already approaching Japan’s north-eastern coastline.

While there wasn’t any visible structural damage anywhere around me, I think I was distracted by the smoke I could start seeing across the horizon.

Watching the live footage of entire communities being swamped up by the tsunami were difficult to believe.

Of course, Tokyo was having it’s own problems because every train and subway had stopped.

Local media were urging people to not force their way home and spend the night at work.ย  It was mainly for safety because at the time no one knew whether there would be another big earthquake, and the chances of things falling on people while they were wandering around unfamiliar territory were high.

The other reason may have been to stop Tokyo’s several million central city population from flooding onto the street paths which for sure, would not be able to take on such a big crowd.ย  A lot of my friends walked home because they were worried about the damage to their house, they had families, or they had pets.

The next week was filled with constantly watching the TV reports coming in about the extent of the tsunami’s damage, the mad rush to find survivors, the messageboards being put up at evacuation centres for victims to write notes for family or relatives who might be looking for them, the nuclear power plant problems at Fukushima, the cold winter weather.

Tokyo residents were having a hard time dealing with food shortages in supermarkets (basically, a lot of people were overbuying and depriving others who might actually need that gluten-free-bread-roll-somebody-bought-20-of, so government ministers had to tell people to knock it off), planned blackouts, and saving energy as much as possible.ย  Thankfully for me, friends and family have been sending me food so I never had a problem with that (although not being able to buy bread was annoying until yesterday).

But that didn’t really compare to what the people up north were going through, and it felt extremely frustrating to watch TV and see a 100-and-something-year old woman freezing in an evacuation centre because there weren’t enough blankets to go around.

10 days later now, things are starting to get better I think.ย  Evacuation centres are beginning to get more supplies of everything (although there are still a large number of centres and hospitals that are dangerously low on supplies), people are offering their spare rooms or finding new places for earthquake victims to stay, temporary shelter homes are being built at lightening speed up north, and the situation at the Fukushima Daiichi power plant seems to be cooling down (and no, even in the worst case scenario radiation would not be able to reach Tokyo in amounts that would be lethal to people, and the liklihood of anyone getting cancer is extremely low).

It’s also amazing to see a large number of people from Japan and overseas donating their money and their time to help out.ย  Hopefully things will continue to get better.

A song I feel has a lot of meaning in a time like this is Rodgers & Hammerstein’s “You’ll Never Walk Alone”:

When you walk through a storm
Hold your head up high
And don’t be afraid of the dark

At the end of the storm
Is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of the lark

Walk on through the wind
Walk on through the rain
Though your dreams be tossed and blown

Walk on walk on with hope in your heart
And you’ll never walk alone
You’ll never walk alone

(Lyrics in Japanese)

ๅตใซๅ‡บไผšใฃใŸๆ™‚ใฏ

ใ—ใฃใ‹ใ‚Šๅ‰ใ‚’ๅ‘ใ„ใฆ่กŒใ“ใ†

ๆš—้—‡ใ‚’ๆใ‚Œใฆใฏใ„ใ‘ใชใ„

ๅตใฎๅ‘ใ“ใ†ใซใฏ

้’็ฉบใŒๅพ…ใฃใฆใ„ใ‚‹

้›ฒ้›€ใŒๅ„ชใ—ใๆญŒใฃใฆใ‚‹

้ขจใฎไธญใ‚’่กŒใ“ใ†

้›จใฎไธญใ‚’่กŒใ“ใ†

ใŸใจใˆๅคข็ ดใ‚Œใ‚ˆใ†ใจใ‚‚

ๆญฉใ“ใ†ใ€€ๆญฉใ็ถšใ‘ใ‚ˆใ†

ๅธŒๆœ›ใ‚’่ƒธใซ

ใใ†ใ€€ใ‚ใชใŸใฏไธ€ไบบใ˜ใ‚ƒใชใ„

ใ‚ใชใŸใฏไธ€ไบบใ˜ใ‚ƒใชใ„

Take care!

Momo xoxo

Categories: Momo yabbering
  1. 14:32 JST March 21, 2011 at 2:32 PM

    take care there!

    • 23:26 JST March 21, 2011 at 11:26 PM

      @heysay9:

      Thank you! I will!
      Thanks for coming by ๐Ÿ™‚

      Momo xoxo

  2. Aninochi
    18:40 JST March 21, 2011 at 6:40 PM

    It’s really good to know that you’re safe. I’ve kind of been glued to the news myself the last weeks, trying to figure out if it really is as bad as they say, or if the media is blowing it out of propotions again. Though it’s quite scary watching the before and after photos and realising how much power such a tsunami has.
    I really hope they manage to control the reactors soon, ’cause I think Japan deserves a break now. It must be hard living in a country so exposed to the whims of nature. Still I find myself wishing I could come and help out. Even though I would not be of very much help.
    I’ll just have to hope that I’ll be able to travel back to Japan one day, without having to worry about being polluted.
    Take care, Momo!

    • 23:28 JST March 21, 2011 at 11:28 PM

      @Aninochi:

      A lot of the international media had overblown the nuclear problem, and even if there is a tiny tiny amount of radiation in the air in Tokyo now, it’s no where near the amount needed to have an effect on you.
      (I think it’s about the same as eating a few hundred bananas, which strangely do have radiation, but putting it in banana terms makes the situation sound less deadly)

      Hope you can come back soon!

      Momo xoxo

  3. nadie
    20:35 JST March 21, 2011 at 8:35 PM

    ciao,
    I am glad to read your new post
    I am very worried
    the earthquake in Japan,
    the war in Libia.
    seems that there is only destruction..
    thanks for the news
    Take care of yourself

    • 23:29 JST March 21, 2011 at 11:29 PM

      @nadie:

      Thanks for commenting!
      The stuff going on in Libya is unreal! Arrrrrrgh!

      Momo xoxo

  4. Lyan
    21:56 JST March 21, 2011 at 9:56 PM

    This is great news Momo ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m really relieved that things are getting better… slowly but surely…
    I’ll always keep Japan in my prayers… and from what I’ve read and watched, the Japanese people are amazing even amidst the chaos… I’ve confidence that you guys will pull through this…

    Remain hopeful and thankful :))))

    • 23:30 JST March 21, 2011 at 11:30 PM

      @Lyan:

      Thanks!
      I’m confident we’ll get through this, but it’ll no doubt change the way the country operates in huge ways.

      Momo xoxo

  5. Sonnette
    00:40 JST March 22, 2011 at 12:40 AM

    So glad to hear you are doing ok. All of our hears and prayers for comfort are with everyone in Japan right now.

    • 15:17 JST March 22, 2011 at 3:17 PM

      @Sonnette:

      Thank you so much, im sure everyone up north are really appreciating everyone’s efforts.

      Momo xoxo

  6. joan
    16:23 JST March 22, 2011 at 4:23 PM

    momo,

    at least you’re fine. i can imagine the feeling you had when the earthquake was happening. I was at school when i heard that there was an earthquake and tsunami on Japan. I couldn’t believe what i saw on televisions.

    Yesterday, while i was at the hospital waiting for my sister to give birth, my bed shook as if someone was shaking it and i was surprised. I even got scared, i thought it was a ghost or something but when i turned on the TV, it was a 5.9 magnitude earthquake. it lasted or 15-30 secs. We keep experiencing earthquakes from different regions and places.

    I hope & pray that everything will soon be back to normal. God bless you and your country.
    Stay safe! ๐Ÿ™‚ *hug*

    • 01:16 JST March 23, 2011 at 1:16 AM

      @joan:

      Thank you!!! I will!
      It’s weird how people think earthquake’s are so…short (or maybe it’s just me)
      but when they go on for so long, you do get really scared ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Thanks!

      Momo xoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

