Home > Johnny's > Marching J attracts more than 100,000 fans on first day

Marching J attracts more than 100,000 fans on first day

18:02 JST April 1, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Fans line up to make donations at "Marching J" in Harajuku

Day one of the Johnny’s 3/11 disaster relief project “Marching J” on April 1 saw 55 of its talents call on tens of thousands of their fans to come together and help out for a good cause, reports Daily Sports Online, News 24, and Yomiuri Online.

 

It has been reported that talents including Masahiko Kondo, TOKIO, Arashi, KAT-TUN, KinKi Kids, and NEWS appeared on a stage set up in front of donation boxes at the Dai-ichi Taikukan court and talked about their ambitions for this project.

“[I want to do this] at least once a month.  And at least for a year.  I’d like to ask the media to continue showing us footage of the reconstruction going on in the disaster zones,” said Kondo.

“Each and every one of us might only be able to help out in a small way, but putting all of it together and we can help out in a big way.  I hope that all of our strength and our thoughts will help those in the disaster areas,” said Sakurai.

“I hope we can overcome this challenge together,” said Kamenashi.

 

More than 101,000 fans created long lines to make donations towards 3/11 disaster relief funds today, prompting the event time to be extended by another hour.

 

Marching J will continue on April 2 and 3 with the 100+ Johnny’s talents taking turns to come on stage.

 

* photo taken from NHK News.

Categories: Johnny's Tags: ,
  1. joan
    18:43 JST April 1, 2011 at 6:43 PM

    awesome, just totally awesome! 😀
    this is the first news i’ve heard since morning. thanks for updating!

    • 22:53 JST April 1, 2011 at 10:53 PM

      @joan:

      Wow, have you seen the video footage from day 1? Argh!
      I think I better take a backpack with supplies of food and drinks and books and games and batteries!

      Momo xoxo

      • joan
        00:27 JST April 2, 2011 at 12:27 AM

        yeah. i have the videos in my LJ.
        LOL. Good luck when you go there. Take care 😀

      • 16:42 JST April 3, 2011 at 4:42 PM

        @joan:

        Thanks for your luck, I made it through!

        Momo xoxo

  2. Mika
    19:15 JST April 1, 2011 at 7:15 PM

    Waaaahhh~!! I wish I was there! I wanna see Kinki, TOKIO & the others wt my own eyes! I’ve read a japanese blog & feel so excited reading her experience who has been there today. Aaa^~ when is V6 turn ne? Anyway, thnx for the news again.

    • 22:54 JST April 1, 2011 at 10:54 PM

      @Mika:

      I wish I was there too!!!
      Arrrrrrrrrgh!

      Hmmm, well V6 and SMAP weren’t there today so I guess they’ll come in the weekend?
      I’m not sure whether Toma Ikuta is coming either, but he would be awesome to see too.

      Momo xoxo

  3. Lyan
    21:03 JST April 1, 2011 at 9:03 PM

    Wow, this is awesome!!!!

  4. jana
    02:27 JST April 2, 2011 at 2:27 AM

    I’ve just watched the youtube video and saw the huge crowd. It’s awesome! Are you going too? I’d like to know what the idols do all the time on the stage 🙂

    • 16:42 JST April 3, 2011 at 4:42 PM

      @jana:

      I want to see if I can find myself in the crowd, lol!

      Momo xoxo

  5. Yan
    05:37 JST April 2, 2011 at 5:37 AM

    I just watched videos of the report and when they showed the huge crowd from above, it was just… WOW.

    • 16:43 JST April 3, 2011 at 4:43 PM

      @Yan:

      yeah, i’m amazed i survived so long.

      Momo xoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

