Home > NEWS, TOKIO > Shige and Shige, the Johnny’s talents who say they can’t do backflips!?

Shige and Shige, the Johnny’s talents who say they can’t do backflips!?

Shigeaki Kato (NEWS) and Shigeru Joshima (TOKIO) both confessed they were Johnny’s talents who could not do backflips, it was revealed on the opening day of their stage play, reports Web The Television.

 

The show “6月のビターオレンジ (6-gatsu no Bitter Orange)” had started its Tokyo season on June 3, and the play’s stars took time out to talk to the press.

 

The room was filled with laughter after one reporter asked the Johnny’s talents that because they shared the same nickname, “Shige,” would there be any chance of a “Shige Shige” duo debut.

“But I can’t do a backflip…,” said Joshima.

“Neither can I,” said Kato.

“You can’t!?  How did you get into Johnny’s!!,” said Joshima.

 

The comedy play follows two brothers, one a genius (Kato) and one not so (Joshima), who are reunited after seven years after their father gets told he has one month left to live.

Yesterday, the two talked about how prepared they were for the show’s first day.

“I feel ready!!  The storyline charges through so many changes that I think it’ll keep the audience from getting bored.  Every character has their own problems.  I got the impression that this was a serious play while I was reading the script, but it turned out to be a lot more fun than I’d thought,” Kato said.

“During rehearsals I was noting down everything the director was telling me on my script, and before I knew it, my script turned completely black.  It’s my first (play) in 15 years so I’d forgotten what was good or bad or left or right.

“I was impressed with how Kato-kun could become his character,” said Joshima.

“I find it amazing that Joshima-kun could keep reading his script to the last minute, but then go ad lib on stage!!,” said Kato.

 

“6-gatsu no Bitter Orange” will run shows in Tokyo until June 26 before moving to Osaka from July 1 to 6.

  1. joan
    17:07 JST June 7, 2011 at 5:07 PM

    LOL. i thought all Johnny’s could do a backflip! XD poor shige shige. well at least they’re good at everything 😉

    • 13:30 JST June 8, 2011 at 1:30 PM

      @joan:

      i would’ve thought backflips would be easy for shige, lol.

      still love him though XD

      Thanks for commenting all the time!

      Momo xoxo

  2. hchaengbok
    02:28 JST June 8, 2011 at 2:28 AM

    “But I can’t do a backflip…,” said Joshima.
    “Neither can I,” said Kato.
    “You can’t!? How did you get into Johnny’s!!,” said Joshima.
    ^
    ^
    LOL…Joshima leader so funny! I wanna see TOKIO members backflip on stage ;P LOL

    (momo, i’m not sure do u receive my e-mail?)

    • 13:31 JST June 8, 2011 at 1:31 PM

      @hchaengbok:

      Hi! Hmmmmmm, maybe I should check my gmail account…
      I have my iPhone set so all emails I get through my gmail account get forwarded to my mobile, but i’ll double check.
      sorry sorry—!!! Been really busy at work…

      Momo xoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

