Home > Kis-My-Ft2, Momo yabbering > My Kis-My-Ft2 rant

My Kis-My-Ft2 rant

14:27 JST August 2, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hello hello 🙂

So over the weekend, I missed the chance of reporting on the news that Kis-My-Ft2 will set a new record in Japan’s music industry:  They will get the chance to perform at Tokyo Dome just 18 days after they make their official debut on August 10, the shortest time any music artist has ever had from their debut to a Tokyo Dome concert (source: Chunichi Sports).

The record had previously been held by Hey! Say! JUMP and Tackey & Tsubasa, who had Tokyo Dome concerts 38 days after their official debut.

The group’s August 28 Tokyo Dome concert was announced during Kis-My-Ft2’s concert in Yokohama on July 29 in front of 15,000 fans.

Members had said they could not believe their dream of performing at Tokyo Dome would come true so soon, and they would do everything they could to make it a success.

While the news is amazing, and I’m happy for Kis-My-Ft2, I couldn’t help but feel a little upset that other groups like KAT-TUN or Arashi have been canceling the same kind of large-scale shows.  Sure, the Arashi dome concerts were turned into an event, and the big issue with the KAT-TUN concerts was that it overlapped with Japan’s pro-baseball season, but still…

A story I read on gossip magazine Cyzowoman this morning also talked about how some Johnny’s fans were worried about the news.  While I can’t guarantee how true the information is, it quotes several journalists and fans saying they’re worried Kis-My-Ft2 aren’t ready for such a huge venue.  It reports some fans being upset because older Johnny’s groups like SMAP or TOKIO started off at smaller venues and gradually worked their way up to Tokyo Dome status after getting more experience and fans.  To start from the top might hurt the group’s reputation if they don’t sell enough tickets.

Still, it’ll be interesting to see what Kis-My-Ft2 do and I wish them all the best for their concert 😀

Categories: Kis-My-Ft2, Momo yabbering
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

