Home > NEWS > Yamapi and Ryo leaving NEWS

Yamapi and Ryo leaving NEWS

23:10 JST October 7, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Tomohisa Yamashita and Ryo Nishikido will leave NEWS, it was announced by Johnny’s & Associates on October 7, reports Sponichi Annex, Asahi Shimbun, and the Japan Press Network.

 

It has been reported Yamashita will become a solo artist, while Nishikido will focus on his Kanjani8 work.  The remaining four members, Keiichiro Koyama, Shigeaki Kato, Takahisa Masuda, and Yuya Tegoshi will continue on as NEWS.

 

“Going solo will be a challenge.  I know that it’ll feel different and I’ll go through hard times unlike anything I’ve ever experienced, but I want to use the skills that I’ve learned in NEWS to each and every job I do from now on.  I hope I can stay good rivals with the other five guys,” Yamashita said.

“We might be working separately now, but the four of us will carry on what we have all done for the past 8 years,” Koyama said.

 

It has been reported Nishikido’s retirement from the group comes after an amounting number of scheduling conflicts between his work in Kanjani8 and NEWS.

“Being part of two groups, I felt bad because it was getting very difficult to plan concert tours,” he said.

The talent wished the remaining four members the best of luck for the future.

  1. 23:35 JST October 7, 2011 at 11:35 PM

    Well this was coming for a long time now.

    • 14:36 JST October 11, 2011 at 2:36 PM

      @kishi:

      Yeah, I guess everyone had a gut feeling it might happen :s
      (sniff)

      Momo xoxo

  2. 00:17 JST October 8, 2011 at 12:17 AM

    I’m so upset, but was kind of expecting it after Yamapi launched his solo album, even though all the fans were protesting for more NEWS activities. I can only wish them all the best of luck. I pity KoyaShige the most though, at least Tegomasu have their duo activities. 😦

    • 14:37 JST October 11, 2011 at 2:37 PM

      @Althea:

      It’s hard, but Shige’s been doing a lot of acting work lately, and Koyama has news every too 🙂

      Momo xoxo

  3. Yan
    01:54 JST October 8, 2011 at 1:54 AM

    Came back home to find this news.

    I suppose this was coming. But still, I’m surprised and speechless… ;A;

    • 14:37 JST October 11, 2011 at 2:37 PM

      @Yan:

      Yeah, I was surprised when I first read about it too! Not a great way to end a Friday!

      Momo xoxo

  1. 12:24 JST October 9, 2011 at 12:24 PM

Leave a Reply

