Home > V6 > V6 finish up on their national tour

V6 finish up on their national tour

14:24 JST October 11, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Johnny’s group V6 finished up their national tour on October 10 in a venue they had not played in for 10 years, bringing back old memories, reports Chunichi SportsSankei Sports, and Sports Hochi.

 

At the Yokohama Arena yesterday, video footage of their concert in the same venue from 2001 was played on screen during the group’s MC session.  It has been reported the members started talking about what had and had not changed in the last decade.

“We’re better dancers now.  And 10 years later, none of us have lost any hair,” Yoshihiko Inohara said.

“We’ve been eating so much but no one’s put on any weight.  No one in V6 is porky,” Hiroshi Nagano said.

“No one [in Johnny’s] is,” Junichi Okada said.

 

V6 celebrate 16 years together now, but group leader Masayuki Sakamoto said group success does not come easy.

“It’s important not to interfere with one another (laughs).  We’re all different ages so there was a long wait before we could all go out drinking as a group.  I think after we could, we got to know one another better.”

 

V6’s national tour went around eight venues, totaling 17 concerts and attracting more than 180,000 fans.

 

EXTRA

Arashi’s Ninomiya made a guest appearance during the group’s MC.

“The first time I was a back dancer was for a V6 concert,” he said, surprising the members before slipping in a little PR for his own group.

“Our new single comes out on November 2,” he said.

 

V6 leader Sakamoto also talked about Tomohisa Yamashita and Ryo Nishikido’s departure from NEWS, and wished them and the remaining four members the best of luck.

“I think they had a really hard time trying to decide what was best.  All they can do now to make up for the trouble they’ve caused to their fans is to work harder than they ever have.

“As part of the Johnny’s family, I wish them all the best,” he said.

 

Sakamoto also commented about new Johnny’s group Sexy Zone’s upcoming debut.

“I’ll keep an eye on them like a father,” he said.

Categories: V6 Tags: , , , , ,
  1. Mika
    14:37 JST October 13, 2011 at 2:37 PM

    Thanks for the report. I’m so exciting waiting for the con dvd.

    • 17:00 JST October 18, 2011 at 5:00 PM

      @Mika:

      Thanks for the comment!

      I hope the con DVD will feature the anniversary video they played at Yokohama Arena.

      Momo xoxo

  2. Cheryl
    02:02 JST November 3, 2011 at 2:02 AM

    I came across your blog by accident, but it’s a blessing in disguise, as I LOVE what I have found!!!
    I am a V6 fan, with Arashi coming second. I am so glad you have JE news in English so I can follow what is happening to the groups.
    I am going to be a follower of your blog from now on. Thank you so much for what you do.

    • 14:07 JST November 7, 2011 at 2:07 PM

      @Cheryl:

      Thanks for your comment!
      So glad something I do is helpful to someone XD

      Although I’m slightly annoyed that I’ve been so busy at work this year that I haven’t had much time to update it as much as I would like!
      (the earthquake really delayed things by a month or two, so I’ve been struggling to get back to date)

      Have a nice week 🙂

      Momo xoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

