Home > Tomohisa Yamashita > Yamapi talks about leaving NEWS

Yamapi talks about leaving NEWS

11:52 JST February 28, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Johnny’s talent Tomohisa Yamashita talked to his fans about leaving NEWS, reports Infoseek.

 

While shooting a TV appearance on music show “HEY! HEY! HEY!” on February 19, Yamashita shared his thoughts with the fans in the studio.

“It’s my first time after leaving NEWS so I am nervous, but I also really feel that safety the members gave me when they were with me.”

 

It has been reported Yamashita continued to explain the situation to his fans.

“I’m sorry.  I know there might be fans who I’ve hurt but we didn’t separate as the result of a fight.  We decided to grow in our own way so please don’t cry.”

 

Finally, the Johnny’s star said he was optimistic about the future of both parties.

“I want to work towards a brighter and fun future with all of you, and those guys, and to do that I want to put everything I have into polishing up my skills, and continue to put smiles on your faces.  I hope that you’ll come with me.”

 

It has been reported a number of fans in the crowd started crying.

 

After the shoot, Yamashita came down and shook hands with every fan as they left.  Some fans commented that:

“I’ll always be his fan.”

“I will support him.”

 

However, Cyzowoman reports a lot of fans were still unsatisfied.  Some comments included:

“Didn’t he leave them?  Get your act together.  You wanted to do something right.  Do you know how much you hurt the members and the fans?  I wish he wouldn’t say stuff like this now.”

“Honestly, why now??  Just when things had settled down and NEWS were about to make a new start, why did he want to bring the topic back up?”

“Cruel!  The four of them are working hard together so stop talking about NEWS!!”

 

The sad thing is that anything Yamapi says or does now comes out as negative to some fans.  It may be an indication as to how difficult it will be for him to win back their trust…

  1. sach
    12:55 JST February 28, 2012 at 12:55 PM

    This is the news clip from that Hey!Hey!Hey! recording :

    I know it must be hard for some NEWS fans who still cannot forgive him until now to heard him talking about NEWS. I personally think it’s a nice gesture to addressed the issue by himself to the fans who attended the recording (who obviously must be his fans, right?) No wonder they were cried.

    Anyway, thanks for the translation ^^

    • 14:09 JST March 14, 2012 at 2:09 PM

      @sach:

      Thanks for commenting…and the video! Yay.

      It’s still a very sensitive issue for everyone I think.
      I think he meant well too, but for some fans it’s really going to take a while to get over the split.

      Momo xo

  2. Yuu
    23:16 JST February 28, 2012 at 11:16 PM

    i hate when the fans are bitching about everything. God! This was a nice comment! I needed this! ok it was months ago, but for me it was a must.
    He was very kind, and i think he is very proud of NEWS and that he was a member.
    He worked his butt of for 8 years, it has to mean something to them… no? He was a good member and i wish him the best luck.
    I’m a news fan and i forgive him!
    Thank you for the news 😉

    • 14:10 JST March 14, 2012 at 2:10 PM

      @Yuu:

      Thanks for your comment 🙂

      I think Yamapi’s learnt something, and I wish him all the best.

      Mind you, I’ll be more relieved after I see NEWS release something 🙂

      Momo xo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment