Home > TOKIO > TOKIO’s Matsuoka working with his real-life high school juniors

TOKIO’s Matsuoka working with his real-life high school juniors

18:49 JST April 19, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Matsuoka's co-stars Ryunosuke Kamiki (left) and Umika Kawashima (right) (photo thanks to Oricon)

TOKIO’s Masahiro Matsuoka admits his real-life high school juniors are more responsible than he ever was, it was revealed at a press conference in Tokyo on April 19, reports Oricon and Mainichi Communications Journal.

Matsuoka and teenage actors Ryunosuke Kamiki and Umika Kawashima star in Nihon TV’s latest drama “高校生レストラン (Koukousei Restaurant)“, which is based on a true story about a high school teacher and his students who open up their own restaurant.

It has been reported Matsuoka reflected on what he was like as a teenager at Horikoshi high school, and compared himself to current Horikoshi high school students Kamiki and Kawashima.

“I wasn’t as well-behaved as these kids.  I was such a brat, and every time I see Kamiki I feel guilty,” Matsuoka said as he scruffed up Kamiki’s hair.

The Johnny’s talent added that teenagers today are more responsible and polite than people might think.

It has been reported Matsuoka said he wanted to hang out with his high school co-stars more.

“Hanging out with the students during filming is really fun, I go home feeling good.  I hope I can take them out to dinner some time,” he said.

“He’s told us this during filming too.  I’m hoping for a BBQ, please,” said Kawashima.

The “高校生レストラン (Koukousei Restaurant)” drama is Matsuoka’s seventh where he has been given the lead role.

“(This drama) is a completely different experience to all of the dramas I’ve done up to now.  Really, everything I do, that I hear, and the things I get told to do are all so new that I come into work every day feeling pure and fresh,” he said.

The drama will start on May 7.  The theme song for the drama has been announced as “見上げた流星 (Miageta Ryusei)” by TOKIO.

Categories: TOKIO Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment