Home > NEWS, TOKIO > Shige says he’s not perfect like his stage show’s character

Shige says he’s not perfect like his stage show’s character

"6月のビターオレンジ (6-gatsu no Bitter Orange)" (photo thanks to stage show website)

Johnny’s talents Shigeaki Kato (NEWS) and Shigeru Joshima (TOKIO) talked about their brotherly roles on and off stage at a press conference in Tokyo on May 13, reports Daily Sports Online and Web The Television.

The two were promoting their upcoming stage show “6月のビターオレンジ (6-gatsu no Bitter Orange)”, which is a human comedy-drama following two brothers, one of who is a genius (Kato) while his older brother is anything but genius (Joshima).

“You could say we have all the right ingredients.  The script is funny and there’s a lot to look out for on stage!  I might be the main character, but I want to do my best to make sure I don’t cause the others any trouble,” Kato said.

“This is my first stage show in 15 years, but I want to have fun as I go.  On set I feel like a newcomer again, like a fresh citrus,” Joshima said.

Fresh was also the way both talents defined their roles, both admitting they were nothing like their on stage character.

“Quite a lot of people expect me to be smart, but actually…I’m sorry.  I’m really nothing like that,” Kato said.

“I play someone who’s bad at sports and can’t study well…but in reality, I can’t find many things we share in common.  It was a little difficult to become this character,” Joshima said.

It has been reported despite these differences, Kato and Joshima got to spend some time together like real brothers off stage.  As the “better” brother, Kato needed to learn how to play the guitar better than TOKIO guitarist Joshima, something which Joshima was happy to teach to Kato.

“I’m really happy he’s been able to teach me.  I appreciate it, he’s like a real big brother,” Kato said.

“You could become the newest guitarist in TOKIO.  It would be interesting to work as a 6-man band,” Joshima said.

  1. Lyan
    04:40 JST May 15, 2011 at 4:40 AM

    Shige is so humble (hehehe)… cute!
    Thx for sharing 😉

    • 11:33 JST May 15, 2011 at 11:33 AM

      @Lyan:

      He’s so modest…not that I that for sure, but when NEWS come out as a group he seems to be one of the more mature members.

      You’re welcome!

      Momo xoxo

  2. Maraam
    09:50 JST May 15, 2011 at 9:50 AM

    Thank you for sharing dear ^^Y
    I hope we get to delightfully see/hear Shige play guitar someday son ^,^

    • 11:34 JST May 15, 2011 at 11:34 AM

      @Maraam:

      I know right! Like the next NEWS concert (when they finally announce one…hopefully within the year? please please please please…)

      Momo xoxo

  1. 12:44 JST May 15, 2011 at 12:44 PM

Leave a comment