Home > NEWS > Yuya Tegoshi wants to be the best

Yuya Tegoshi wants to be the best

12:17 JST June 20, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

NEWS member Yuya Tegoshi loves his friends but also sees them as his biggest rivals, reports Yomiuri Shimbun on June 19.

 

“I started playing soccer when I was at kindergarten and loved it, even now it’s a part of my life.

 

I practice with my team as captain, and we enter competitions.  No matter how busy I am at work, I have to move my body.  I love playing and being with my friends.  It gets me ready for the next day.

 

I constantly train my body.  Even if we have two concerts in one day, I can cool down properly and don’t get tired the next day.  Compared to soccer, singing and dancing at the same time is a piece of cake.

 

Soccer has made me an incredibly competitive person.  I made my debut with NEWS at fifteen, I was the youngest member in the group and had only joined Johnny’s 10 months before.  I had no dance experience.  I was literally the worst in the group and it really annoyed me.

 

Up to then I was always a leader.  The anchor in the relay team, the captain of the cheering squad, the team leader in school trips.  So for the first time I felt out of place,  and I didn’t like going to work.

 

That competitiveness in me started coming out.  I’d take dance lessons in secret.  I wanted to be a better singer so I hired a voice trainer and practiced the songs over and over again at karaoke.

 

The NEWS members are my friends, but they’re also my biggest rivals.  I want to be the best that I can.  I feel a lot of gratitude towards soccer for teaching me to push myself further.”

Categories: NEWS Tags: ,
  1. 02:22 JST August 3, 2012 at 2:22 AM

    how-come-hes-the-youngest???kusano&TAKA-are-the-youngest-of-the-group–and-shige&tego-are-same0-age

  1. 07:02 JST June 21, 2012 at 7:02 AM
  2. 21:19 JST June 21, 2012 at 9:19 PM

Leave a comment