Home > Arashi > Ohoku off to a fighting start

Ohoku off to a fighting start

13:13 JST October 4, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Arashi’s Kazunari Ninomiya (27) made a personal appearance at a movie theatre in Tokyo on Saturday to thank his fans for the “大奥 (Ohoku)” movie’s success so far, reports Daily Sports.

The movie was played on more than 310 cinema screens across Japan on its opening day, attracting more than 170,000 people.

Ninomiya was accompanied by Ko Shibasaki (29), Maki Horikita (22), and Hiroshi Tamaki (30) as 1600 大入り袋 (Ohiri-bukuro)* with 5-yen coins** inside were given out to those who had come to see the movie on Saturday.

“Please use this money to come and see the movie again,” Ninomiya said.

The star and his co-star Tamaki continued to promote the movie by confessing their feelings for one another.

“My idea of the perfect man would be Tamaki-san.  There’s no one as beautiful as him,” Ninomiya said.

“I took up this role because Nino was starring in the movie,” Tamaki said.

* 大入り袋 (Ohiri-bukuro) are specials bags with money inside that are given out as thank you gifts after big business successes.

** 5-yen coins are a type of lucky charm in Japanese culture, the way the word is said, “go-en”, is the same as the word for “fate” or “destiny”.

Categories: Arashi Tags: , , ,
  1. Lu
    09:10 JST October 5, 2010 at 9:10 AM

    Congratulations on your 200th post! I accidently found your blog through google, and has been a regular visitor ever since. I am a J fan, and this blog provides the lastest news of Johnny’s in a unbiased way.

    A little suggestion: could you post the link to the original source as well? I am learning Japanese right now, so it would be a propeller for me to read those J-related news. And best of all, I can always compare it to your translation ×DDD

    Thanks again for putting up this wonderful blog.

    • 10:49 JST October 5, 2010 at 10:49 AM

      @Lu:

      Thanks for coming all the time! (^^)/

      Yes, that’s cool, I’ll start adding links to my sources. I suppose I really should have, especially after that Jin Akanishi post…

      I do have to warn you that I don’t do word for word translations of these news stories.
      I generally take bits which I find interesting to my blog (things to do with Johnny’s), and tend to leave out details which wouldn’t be of use to people overseas (like the full name of theatre buildings – these go into their individual pages though).

      I do this because I’m a journalist, and I think a lot of the original Japanese news stories wouldn’t be as interesting as they could be if I did word for word translations. I try and get the things that would interest fans to the top of the post.

      Hope that makes sense!

      Have a good day 😀

      Momo xoxo

  1. 20:10 JST November 24, 2011 at 8:10 PM

Leave a comment